Garland, Ottawa, Ont., former M.P. for Carleton, Ont. Mar. 20, Frederick C. Casselman, M.C., M.P., Ottawa, Ont., Member for Edmonton East. Mar. 22, Ira A. Humphries, Toronto, Ont., former Deputy Attorney General for Ontario. Mar. 25, Dr. John L. MacIsaac, Antigonish, N.S., M.L.A. for Antigonish County. Apr. 3, Hon. James R. Wilson, P.C., Saskatoon, Sask., former Minister without Portfolio. Apr. 8, Hon. Loring C. Christie, New York, U.S.A., Canadian Minister to the United States. May 1, Albert Allard, Ottawa, Ont., former M.P. for Ottawa. May 7, Reginald E. Watts, F.S.S., Ottawa, Ont., former Chief, Judicial Statistics Branch, Dominion Bureau of Statistics. May 11, Hon. J. D. Taylor, Winter, Sask., Senator for New Westminster. May 28, Hermas Deslauriers, M.D., Montreal, Que., M.P. for Montreal St. Mary's. June 11, Alexander C. Rutherford, Edmonton, Alta., first Premier of Alberta.

Section 3.—Extracts from the Canada Gazette—Official Appointments, Commissions, etc.*

Lieutenant-Governors, 1940.—Roland Fairbairn McWilliams, Esq., K.C., Winnipeg, Man.: to be Lieutenant-Governor of the Province of Manitoba, effective Nov. 1, 1940.

Privy Councillors, 1940.—July 8, William Pate Mulock, Esq., K.C., M.P., Toronto, Ont., Col. Colin William George Gibson, M.C., V.D., K.C., M.P., Hamilton, Ont.: to be Members of the King's Privy Council for Canada, July 12, Angus Lewis Macdonald, Esq., K.C., B.A., LL.B., S.J.D., Halifax, N.S.: to be a Member of the King's Privy Council for Canada. 1941.—Feb. 24, Leighton Goldie McCarthy, Esq., K.C., Toronto, Ont.: to be a Member of the King's Privy Council for Canada. June 11, Joseph T. Thorson, Esq., K.C., B.A., LL.B., J.D., M.P., Winnipeg, Man.; to be a Member of the King's Privy Council for Canada.

Cabinet Ministers, 1940.—July 5, Hon. James Layton Ralston, P.C.: to be Minister of National Defence. July 8, Hon. Pierre Joseph Arthur Cardin, P.C., Minister of Public Works: to be Minister of Transport, vice Hon. C. D. Howe, resigned. Hon. James Lorimer Ilsley, P.C.: to be Minister of Finance, vice Hon. J. L. Ralston, resigned. Hon. William Pate Mulock, K.C., M.P., Toronto, Ont.: to be Postmaster General vice Hon. C. G. Power, resigned. Col. the Hon. Colin William George Gibson, M.C., V.D., K.C., M.P., Hamilton, Ont.: to be Minister of National Revenue, vice Hon. J. L. Ilsley, resigned. July 12, Hon. Angus Lewis Macdonald, P.C., K.C., B.A., LL.D., S.J.D.: to be Minister of National Defence for Naval Services. Hon. Charles Gavin Power, P.C., Minister of National Defence for Air: to be Associate Minister of National Defence. Hon. James Garfield Gardiner, P.C., Minister of Agriculture: to be Minister of National War Services. June 11, Hon. Joseph T. Thorson, K.C., B.A., LL.B., J.D., M.P., Winnipeg Man.: to be Minister of National War Services vice the Hon. J. G. Gardiner, resigned.

Senators, 1940.—Nov. 7, Leon Mercier Gouin, K.C., LL.D., Montreal, Que.

New Members of the House of Commons, 1940.—Aug. 12, Hon. Angus Lewis Macdonald, (Lib.), elected for Kingston City, Ont. Aug. 19, A. H. Bence (Cons.), elected for Saskatoon, Sask., G. R. Boucher (Cons.), elected for Carleton, Ont., L. O. Breithaupt, (Lib.), elected for Waterloo North, Ont. 1941.—June 2, Mrs. Cora T. Casselman (Lib.), elected for Edmonton East, Alta.

This list is in continuance of that at pp. 1136-1142 of the 1940 Year Book.